Skip to content

Three Lists for the End of 2012

December 31, 2012

[I blatantly stole the idea for this post from Gracie of Girl Meets Life. You can read her far more eloquent post here: 12 things I learned in 2012]

13 things I learned in 2012:

  1. It’s not ideal to be a sofa-surfer, but when you’ve got good people around you, it’s not so scary.
  2. People really are the most important. Not agendas or jobs or programs or anything else. It’s people…blood and flesh and hearts.

    best of 2012

    A few, but certainly not all, of my best moments of 2012. (Click to enlarge.)

  3. For me to be the best version of myself, I need structure. I need other people. And I need to be needed.
  4. I really like music by Dave Matthews Band.
  5. A person’s insides count the most. Not appearance or position, but who they are.
  6. London is my favorite. And so is New Orleans. And I also love Scotland a whole lot.
  7. Lecrae and Mumford & Sons are really really really really good live.
  8. If I never get to live in a brownstone in Brooklyn or The Bronx or Queens, I feel like my life won’t be complete. I blame The Cosby Show for this.
  9. Getting what you want (or what you think you want) ≠ joy. And sometimes, it doesn’t even equal happiness.
  10. My joy isn’t circumstantial; it comes from knowing my position in Christ:  Forgiven. Loved. Accepted. Valuable.
  11. All of that being said, I find it much easier to smile when I’m warm.
  12. Kindness is a better gift than anything physical. It’s one thing people always need, no matter what.
  13. There is no better adventure than following God’s plan for your life. But the very nature of adventure means it won’t be easy. This bit from Gracie’s post sums it up perfectly:

“…2012 wasn’t exactly my favorite year. It was, though, the year that I’ve learned more about life and myself than ever before. 2012 brought a ton of unexpected trials but also unexpected blessings, and I wouldn’t have had it be any other way.”

Quotes that got me through the year: 

  • “My help cometh from the Lord.” – Psalm 121:2
  • “The joy of the Lord is my strength.” – Nehemiah 8:10
  • “I wonder what amazing thing God’s gonna do next.” – My pops, Clark Palmer
  • “Don’t worry about anything! Pray about everything! Tell God what you need and thank him for what he’s already done!” – Philippians 4:6, as quoted by Bro. Sam Lofton in his sermon Be Thankful, available here: Immanuel Baptist Church Sermons

Aaaand what you’ve all been waiting for (drumroll please)….

The OFFICIAL MepMix of 2012

A more eclectic list of music you will not find. Guaranteed.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jtothegal permalink
    December 31, 2012 2:19 pm

    Loves:
    -Psh. Basically everything on the “Things I’ve Learned” list!
    -Church Clap. Duh. That is my JAM.
    -Love on Top. Obvi.
    -and Bom Bom? Yes!

    Clearly my New Year’s Resolution should be to aspire to reach your level of cool.

Leave a comment