Skip to content

Chocolate.

April 3, 2010

I love chocolate. Love it. I wouldn’t call myself a “chocoholic,” but I pretty much eat a little (or a lot) everyday.

And at Easter, chocolate abounds.  I wanted to buy some today to restock my candy stash. I didn’t. Not because I’m watching my calories, but because I watched this video yesterday:

How You Can Stop the Traffik

Half way through, the harsh reality was brought to my attention. Chocolate isn’t safe. As much as I wish this wasn’t true, there’s overwhelming evidence that the major chocolatiers of the world (Cadbury, Hershey, Mars, Nestle) have made minimal efforts to ensure their chocolate comes from slave-free cocoa. Like Steve says, when those companies make traffic-free chocolate, they’ll let us know.

Photo from Stop the Traffik

My favorite line the video comes from Artonie Fountain: “Every single person on this world that is trafficked is one too many.”

And for me, every single piece of chocolate that I eat that comes from a company that profits from slavery is one too many. Who’s with me?

________________________________________________________________________________

To find out more about the issue, check out http://www.stopthetraffik.org/ourwork/chocolate/ or Slave-Free Chocolate.

Photo from Stop the Traffik

________________________________________________________________

“Remember: Justice is what love looks like in public.” – Dr. Cornel West

9 Comments leave one →
  1. The Ecclesiastical Hipster permalink
    April 3, 2010 3:59 pm

    I don’t know about the other chocolate companies, but you should avoid Nestlé anyway. Slave chocolate is only one of their problems.

  2. Nichole permalink
    April 3, 2010 4:57 pm

    Wow. I never thought this was possible. Love you mep. Can’t wait to see you changing the world even more than you do now.

  3. Gina permalink
    April 3, 2010 5:17 pm

    Wish I’d known this before that trip to WM this morning.

  4. April 3, 2010 9:11 pm

    This is rather devastating. I am what I would call a chocoholic. But, this does break my heart. You are an amazing person and I love you! You’re going to do such amazing things!

  5. April 4, 2010 9:10 pm

    Thanks for reading, guys! I bought some fair trade chocolate yesterday. 🙂

  6. Yvette Palmer permalink
    April 7, 2010 8:23 am

    I AM definitely a chocoholic! Tell me, quickly, where can I fine slave-free chocolate? I know you threw out some names the other day, but remind me again! Please! Soon!

    • April 7, 2010 7:08 pm

      I’m working getting a comprehensive list together. I’ll let you know as soon as I have it!

  7. Amanda Webb permalink
    April 12, 2010 12:28 am

    Thanks Michelle, I am definately in with you! How can you learn information like this and not have it change your life. But sadly, most won’t worry much about it. It’s like that scene in Hotel Rwanda when Paul Rusesabagina says,”How can they not intervene when they witness such atrocities?” and Jack says, “I think if people see this footage they’ll say, ‘oh my God that’s horrible,’ and then go on eating their dinners.” I can never again have to “freedom” to just have even a chocolate milkshake without knowing where that chocolate came from. You don’t realize how much chocolate is in your life until news like this hits you. I have to actually learn to bake brownies from scratch, not the boxed ones that are so easy. I remember how I felt watching Amazing Grace, how I wanted to be there and boycott the sugar industries. Well, the chocolate industry is todays sugar industry. But let’s not forget God in our pasion for justice. He gave us the desire to lift up the poor and oppressed, we must look to Him for directon and above all pray, pray, pray. We can do so much, but He can do so much more through us.

    • April 12, 2010 10:33 pm

      Thank you, Amanda! That scene from Hotel Rwanda is so powerful and so sadly true.

      And you’re right. I know it was the Lord who gave me this passion, who put that video in front of me at the right time, and we have to lean on him for the strength to continue.

Leave a comment