Skip to content

Pizza Hut.

July 12, 2012

5. 7. 7.

Those were my numbers for my first three days at my new job. (Market research…door to door, asking people to answer questions about cancer…more fun than it sounds, promise.)  Not bad comparatively, but when I went in Tuesday morning, I got the “friendly warning” in the hallway that I needed to improve my numbers to stay on the team. As the project nears the end, they only send out the best people. The warning worked, and on a rainy day with lots of driving to new wards and loads of quotas (only men in this area, only people between 18-34 in another), I had a stellar day. 12! I got more than Ro, and no one ever gets more than Ro! My team leader went on and on about how pleased he was.

Sadly, it’s not his decision who gets put on the teams. I got the call this morning saying they wouldn’t need me for the rest of my shifts this week. There’s a possibility I’ll get to go out again in the next few weeks, but it’s not looking particularly good.

I could’ve cried, wanted to a bit, but instead, I just got stuck in to the job hunt immediately. Found a couple with the university. A good one that doesn’t start until late-September. A decent one that I’d love but don’t expect to get.

And Pizza Hut.

It was during the Pizza Hut application that the bitterness started to creep in. Pizza Hut. “Seriously? I have a Master’s degree, and I’m applying for a job at Pizza Hut?! Is this really my life!?”

Yeah, Pizza Hut…

IN ENGLAND.

In a city I love. Where I have an overwhelming number of friends that I love. And go to and work with a church that I love. Where I serve a God that I love and who loves me more than I can possibly understand.

Do I want a fulfilling career? Do I want to use my degree for something worthwhile? Of course, I do! But in the meantime, I have so much more that I can look to, and smile, and say,

“Yeah, my life is WONDERFUL.”

And be grateful.

I’ve been uncertain about life for basically the last 11 months. It’s been tough and emotional. But it’s been an adventure, and I can honestly say that right now, I’m feel like I’m exactly where God wants me. And at the end of the day, that’s what I want more than anything else. Even if where God wants me is Pizza Hut.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 18, 2012 10:00 am

    I love your take on this. It was a happy day when I decided to start trusting that God knew what He was doing with my life, and that I should be focusing on who I am instead of what I do. I’ve had sort of a meandering career path, but it’s all built and shaped me, and I wouldn’t take anything back. Discerning your call is the work of a life time, and we never really “arrive” anywhere; the journey is the medium of our lives, and we can learn a lot if we’re paying attention with grateful hearts. I miss you! Stay safe over there!

    Oh, and if you do get on at PH, remember to be nice and give people lots of toppings. Always brightens my day when they’ve been generous with my toppings. 😀 By the way, do Brits like weird things on their pizzas? I hear Aussies like eggs.

Leave a comment